Trapped within myself

Remember the last time you broke my trust?
When the last bolt gave and a trapdoor shut?
I have since dug a moat and filled it with self-doubt
and posted alligators to guard my trap –
all my cheese trapped within.

The cheese is all I have got, all I have got to share.
So, I have also been waiting for a hammer,
to break down the door you so easily shut.

But who would dare the guardian monsters
only for some common cheese –
It is sold by the dozen, or so I’ve heard.

My guards have also grown stronger
Feeding on the doubt.
And, I need rescuing from the castle I built.

If I sucked all the liquid out of the moat
and let my guardians die, For my cheese
would a hammer then come about?

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

